Vanity License Plates

You can tell a lot about a person’s personality by the way they choose to customize their license plates. While running errands today, I saw one that read IMLUVED. While that’s all fine and well—I mean, everybody wants to be loved—but I’d rather see a cool personalization than a sentimental one.

I know, that sounds odd coming from a “romance” author, huh? You’d think I’d like plates that read 4MYLUV or HONEYPOO (if you’ve ever seen the movie Cool World, you’ll get that last one). Now don’t get me wrong, I like happy endings just as much as the next girl. I just have a different idea about how to get there.

I dated a guy once (in another life that I like to call…before marriage), he had this souped-up Trans Am with a license plate that read ARRESTME.

Now that was a great license plate. 😀

I had a neighbor once, a girl, whose chosen profession I’m not entirely sure of, but I do have my suspicions because the tags on her Corvette said 4MYSINS. I’m sure you know where my mind’s at with that one—in the gutter. Heh.

Unfortunately, I don’t see many “cool” plates in northern Nevada these days. Although, my hubby and I did see one a couple months ago that read 14THBCH on a Beamer. Hubby said it was “one for the beach”, but I’d prefer to think it’s “one for the bitch”.

Another license plate I remember from years ago was on a beat-up, older model sedan that read: FUKU2. That one gets a snorting laugh out of me every time I think about it.

Since I love all things time travel, I have to mention the OUTATIME plate that’s on the DeLorean in Back to the Future. That gets a thumbs up in my book.

And who wouldn’t think RCKNROLL is cool on a ’57 Chevy? Hubby and I saw that at a car show once. That’s how I know the particulars of the car. If my hubby had a vanity plate, I think it’d read CARCRAZY. He says, more like NOTGUILTY. He thinks he’s funny.

I saw a guy in a nondescript sedan once with the tags BRSTLVR. Bet he got lots of dates! Not.

If I ever decide to get personalized plates (and I’d have to have a really cool car before I did that. Maybe a retro Camaro), I’d want one that says CRAZYFOOL or maybe CRZY4U (In honor of my first Indie published book Crazy For You).

Guess it’s true—they don’t call ‘em vanity plates for nothing!

About Sandra Edwards

NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY Bestselling Author Sandra Edwards writes award-winning romance in a variety of subgenres such as paranormal (mostly time travel and reincarnation), contemporary, and suspense. She lives in the U.S. (west coast) with her husband, two kids, four dogs and one very temperamental feline. Sandra's books often push the envelope and step outside the boundaries of conventional romance. For more info on Sandra's books, visit her website at www.sandrawrites.com. View all posts by Sandra Edwards

15 responses to “Vanity License Plates

  • Markee Anderson

    HAHAHA! I love those plates! My husband used to have a plate that read ‘FRENZY’ from a video game. When we got married and had kids, he wanted me to get one called ‘FRANTIC’ to indicate what our life was like with 3 kids ages 3 and under. 🙂 Cracks me up every time.

    Loved the Back to the Future comment, too. Outatime…definitely! Our plates define us! I wonder what that says about my generic plate? 🙂

  • Melissa Ohnoutka

    Some of these plates really make you stop and think, don’t they! LOL Not sure what my plate would read. Maybe something like “IMLOOPY” as my twelve year old son calls me. Not crazy. Just loopy, mom. Gotta love him! 🙂 Great post, Sandy!

  • L.K. Rigel (likari)

    Urban legend has it that once a court reporter had plates that read:

    TPUBG U

    And that the plates were cancelled when someone who could read steno shorthand complained to the DMV.

  • Cate Rowan

    Heh. I love mine (and you know what it says, Sandy 🙂 ). Reading vanity plates always makes long car trips more fun.

    BTW, welcome to the blogosphere!

  • sue fineman

    I used to see a lot of crazy plates in Oklahoma years ago, but not so many here in Washington State. They have so many rules, most people can’t get by with a raunchy plate. And they cost a lot more.

    Glad to see you blogging, Sandy.

  • J.C. Phelps

    I posted a minute ago and it’s coming across as “allthingsaboutbooks”. Hmmm, that’s not me. 😀

    What I’d said was:
    Great post. About the only time we see the vanity plates anymore is when there is a car show in town. But they are fun!

  • Tess

    Great blog!

    My niece has one…LIL RED…she’s a very outspoken redhead…I always thought that was perfect for her.

    DH’s would be COOLGEEK. Yes, it’s an oxymoron, but he played football, baseball, and was very athletic and has always loved computers! Yes, that would fit him perfectly.

    Mine would have to be ANGL EYS. Not because my eyes are my best feature, but in honor of the third book in my romantic/mystery series.

    Great to see you blogging, Sandra!

  • Robin Haseltine

    Wonderful blog! I have to admit I never notice license plates b/c I’m usually multitasking between dodging the Houston traffic and working out the plot/dialogue in my next book. If I wanted to spend the money on a personalized plate, not sure if I’d chose BirdCrazy or RockCrazy. My family would probably say either works 🙂

  • Monique Martin

    w00t – a new blog!

    There are so many vanity plates around here. I wish I could remember some of them! Now, I’ll have to start paying attention.

  • Cara Marsi

    I really enjoyed your blog. Very different and interesting, like your books. I once had an orange VW Beetle (the original Beetle). The license was CAM2, my initials. I couldn’t get CAM1 because someone had Cami.

    People started recognizing the car because of the license plate. The mechanic always referred to it as CAM2. I started calling it that. It was fun.

  • Sandra Edwards

    @Markee – with 3 kids under 3, my plates would read TIRED. lol

    @ Melissa – You can be “loopy” and I’ll be “crazy” 🙂

    @ LK – Good one. I’ll admit, I had to look it up 😉

    @ Cate – Thx! It does break up the monotony, doesn’t it?

    @ Sue – Thx, and you’re So right. Times are changing. Most of the great ones I’ve seen were years ago. *sigh*

    @ JC – Gotcha covered :). Cool vanity plates seem to be a dying breed.

    @ Tess – Funny your should mention LIL RED. I thought about making that Rio’s license plate in Broken Wings and Vegas, Baby. She’s an outspoken redhead, too!

    @ Robin – your life sounds hectic. Glad you can find some time to brainstorm scenes while driving.

    @ Monique – considering where you live, I’ll bet you see all kinds of good ones 🙂

    @ Cara – A recognizable car with an an even more recognizable plate. I’ll bet everybody know when you were coming 🙂

    Thx everyone for dropping by!

  • Ari Thatcher

    Welcome to the world of blogging! I never have been able to come up with the perfect vanity plate for me, but recently decided if my erotic romance royalties ever add up to enough to buy a truck, I’d get SMUTMBL!

  • Linda Regina

    Good for you! The hardest part about blogging is thinking of something new to say, IMO. 🙂 This was fun. I think my vanity plate should be DOGCR8T or something similar.

  • Mariposa Cruz

    A good one I’ve seen around town is ExcusMoi. Great post!

  • Sandra Edwards

    @ Ari. I think SMUTMBL is a GREAT vanity tag!

    @ Linda Regina. You said it…finding something to talk about is the hardest part. As I’m familiar with your books, I think DOGCR8T is perfect 🙂

    @ Mariposa. EXCUSMOI would definitely make me laugh.

    Thanks for the comments. I’m glad everyone’s enjoying my post on vanity plates!

Leave a Reply

